top of page

The Beginning: Cranes for Japan(2011)

Cranes symbolize hope, health, happiness, and longevity. People need something to hope for and smile about when they believe there isn’t much to look forward to in their future. The Crane Project’s mission is to bring hope after devastation. The project was inspired by the Japanese myth that if one folded a thousand cranes, his or her wish would be granted by a crane.Several years ago after the Tsunami hit Japan, My mom and I came up with the idea to make paper cranes and help fundraise for Japan. At the end of two-months I had about 1,200 papers cranes with the help of friends and students from a local vietnamese school We started the Crane Project after the Tsunami hit Japan several years ago. Neighbors and friends pledged a dollar for each crane made. All the cranes and funds raised were sent to a school in Japan.

All things aside, making cranes is a form of relaxation that helps one contemplate on the world. From my experience, making cranes has helped me become more aware of my surroundings and think more of others than myself.

bottom of page